Anything is possible

36 years of Life Sciences industry advice from a CFO

Hello from Sydney,

These past couple weeks have been really eventful at work. I had my mid-year performance review which I’ll get to in a bit but interestingly my finance team got a 15 minute calendar invite from the CEO one afternoon for the next morning with no context. Teams messages were going off as everyone was guessing what it could be about.

source: Gilmore Girls (2000 - 2007)

Most people dialed in from home but I was one of 8 people who came in that morning to hear the sudden announcement that our CFO of 12 years was stepping down. In this letter, I thought I’d share snippets of what stuck with me from what became an emotional farewell speech reflecting on 36 years of working exclusively for 2 top healthcare companies with equal stints in each.

Fancy cars, fancy boats, fancy houses don’t matter when you get to my age…it’s people that will be my greatest legacy…back in my time you didn’t progress until you made your team or function better than when you found it…it’s scary when you have less time ahead in your career than what’s past…embrace the change.

As cliche as some of it might sound, hearing his voice shake and being in that room on that day made me feel inspired which to me is the litmus test of being in the presence of a true leader. It’s not every day you hear someone with decades of experiences share what matters most at the peak of his career.

🗡️ What’s your edge?

Going back to my mid-year review meeting, the question that got me thinking the most was being asked what’s my edge. In my view, it’s one of those things that’s hard for someone to introspect without someone else telling you what unique value you bring to the table.

I had some ideas in my mind but I figured I’d throw it to you - what do you think my edge is from personally knowing me?

💬 Made you think

More and more decisions now are being made off the back of anecdotes rather than data alone

I usually carry a moleskin notebook around for my coffee meetings even if I never open it. But last week, I scribbled the above quote from a discussion I had with a co-worker. You hear the word storytelling being thrown around a lot and of course data’s become old news at this point. Even though anecdotes are synonymous to stories, it doesn’t feel as generic or overused.

Ps. what is up with the small chain, no-shirt blazer look at this year’s NBA draft? Big fan of Jared Mccain’s energy but personally prefer the oversized suit and ties from 2003.

Till next time,

Azam

Reply

or to participate.