Calls only

Why I think Nokia is better than Apple

Dear you,

In a last ditched effort to hold on to what’s left of the golden 2000’s era, I went out and bought the Nokia 2660 flip phone. A couple years ago I tried to use a BlackBerry until they decommissioned the software worldwide on January 4th 2022. But after 10 years of iPhone after iPhone (5c, 6s, 11, 12, 14pro), I’m finally going back to the flip phone and so far I’m loving it.

Instead of downloading books on Audible to listen to, I’m now buying paperback versions to flick through. Lately, I’ve been super engaged with Alex Ferguson’s book Leading which is co-authored by Michael Moritz, the chairman of Sequoia Capital. Michael Moritz’s chapter in David Rubenstein’s book How to Invest was what led me to read Mortiz’s own book about the legendary coach of Manchester United. More on that below and probably a separate letter.

Rather than texting, I’m now picking up the phone and dialing a number to call. I have very few friends who do this but I appreciate the ones that do. And rather than listening to music at the gym, I just focus on working out and pray that the gym’s playlist isn’t so bad. In saying all this, I still have access to the web version of most apps (namely Messenger, WhatsApp and Instagram) so I’m not being completely disconnected. It just feels like now I’m not always carrying a mini-laptop, camera and iPod in my pocket.

⚖️ This past week in numbers

📲 1h 9m (Macbook only)

🍎 I set up two coffees for the next couple weeks in an attempt to network more. Will probably share whatever I learn here so stay tuned for that

💬 Made you think

I have spent much of my life trying to coax the best out of young people…I have found that my appetite for, and appreciation of, youthful enthusiasm has only grown.

Young people will always manage to achieve the impossible…If I were running a company, I would always want to listen to the thoughts of its most talented youngsters, because they are the people most in touch with the realities of today and the prospects for tomorrow.

Sir Alex Ferguson

As soon as I read the well-structured and easy to follow contents of Leading, I knew it’d be one of those books that I could finish in a weekend.

Source: Leading by Alex Ferguson with Michael Moritz (2015)

Ps. Hit reply if you want my return to YouTube to be a video about my experience using the iconic flip phone. I’ve already reverted to film cameras, camcorders and now this. I have a feeling my next car will be from this vintage shop underneath the Sydney Harbour Bridge.

I’m not sure what else I’m missing to complete my retro effect but please do share ideas if you can think of anything. Happy June.

Till next time,

Azam

Reply

or to participate.