Prospects

Trading the known good for the prospect of great

Dear you,

As the class of 2024 graduated this past week, I came across an interview with the CEO of Oroton and the advice she was given when she wanted to leave her first job post-MBA.

Don’t always trade the known good for the prospect of great

Kahneman’s 2002 Nobel-Prize winning ‘Prospect Theory’

🎲 Losses loom larger than gains

Not to be dramatic but I kind of wish someone told me this before I traded away just about everything that was good in my life…

  • Exhibit A - trading a good high school at Normo for a great school at Sydney High

  • Exhibit B - trading a good home in the suburbs for a great apartment in the city to accommodate the above move

  • Exhibit C - trading a good firm at PwC for a great firm at Accenture

  • Exhibit D - trading a good career in consulting for a great career in finance

  • Exhibit E - attempting to trade a good lifestyle in Sydney for a great lifestyle in New York

Anyone else reading some of these good vs. great comparisons might think that I have it completely the wrong way round (eg. exhibit C or D). And in some instances, what started out as good in fact turned out later to be great (eg. exhibit A).

Looking back, I don’t completely regret trading the cards I’ve been dealt with and I don't see anything wrong in striving for greatness. If anything, Kahneman’s prospect theory and concept of loss aversion just reminds me that sometimes those losses that have loomed on me over the years are distracting me from the rewards I’ve gained simply by taking a risk in what can only be described as a leap of faith. I guess just a reminder as well to acknowledge what you have is usually pretty good even if it doesn’t always feel like that in the moment.

⚖️ This past week in numbers

📲 Screen time: 3h 47 min (down 5%)

🍎 Step count: 5,264 (below 2024 avg. of 6,000)

💬 Made you think

The thumbnail for this post is a gif from a movie called Whiplash (2014). Kyrie Irving wrote whiplash on his Nike shoes because of this film which he watched and now credits to being the turning point of his career.

It’s getting chilly in Sydney so hope you’re keeping warm or otherwise enjoying heading into summer if you’re on the other side of the world reading this.

Till next time,

Azam

Reply

or to participate.